November 26,2010

Program at a Glance

Conference Program

Download the Scholarship Form

Lebanon Visa Requirement

25-27th November 2010. Crowne Plaza Hotel- Beirut-Lebanon

Globalization and Public Health in the EMR
Key Dates:
  • Abstract submission deadline – July 31, 2010
  • Early bird registration deadline – October 1st , 2010
Welcome from Dr. Mary E. Deeb,
LEA President

Dear Colleagues and Friends,
It is my pleasure to invite you to Beirut on November 25-27, 2010, to participate in the 8th IEA/EMR Scientific Meeting on "Globalization and Public Health in the Eastern Mediterranean Region".

The last time LEA hosted the IEA/EMR Regional scientific meeting in Beirut was in 1997. It had been a great success, drawing about 200 participants from several Arab countries. We look forward to repeating and improving this success in the upcoming meeting in November 25-27, 2010. There is a need for clearly defined research that can contribute to policy agendas, to help respond to national and regional challenges in Public Health. The proposed regional meeting would permit sharing of knowledge, best practices and health concerns, particularly in relation to current global topics that have received up till now insufficient attention in the EMR. We believe that this event's success can also enhance the position of the EMR countries as
leaders in science and health.

I hope that you will join us and contribute to the success of a scientific meeting that is expected to be professionally stimulating. The program includes contributions from Worldwide leading health professionals, Epidemiologists and clinicians, who will provide a cutting-edge discussion on the issue of globalization and public health.

I look forward to welcoming you all in Beirut …. Inshallah !!!!

Mary E. Deeb, PhD
President of the Lebanese Epidemiological Association
Chair of the 8th IEA/EMR Scientific Meeting

Meeting Committees

  • Mary E. Deeb, PhD (Chair)
  • Salim Adib, MD, PhD
  • Ali Al-Zahrani, MD, PhD
  • Rafic Baddoura, MD, PhD
  • John Jabbour, MPH
  • Elie Karam, MD
  • Aziza Khalidi, DSc
  • Ahmed Mandil, MD, DrPH
  • Ziad Mansour, MD
  • Monique Chaaya, DrPH (Chair)
  • Rajaa Al-Radadi, MD
  • Ahmad Al-Shatti, MD
  • Hyam Bashour, PhD
  • AbdulAziz Bin Saeed, MD, PhD
  • Mary E. Deeb, PhD
  • Ashry Gad, DrPH
  • Lilian Ghandour, PhD
  • Rima Habib, PhD
  • Randah Hamadeh, DPhil
  • Abdulrahman Maaroufi, MD
  • Kourosh Holakouie Naieni, PhD
  • Randa Nooh, MD, PhD
  • Ossama Rasslan, MD, PhD
  • Abla Sibai, PhD
  • Pascale Salameh, PhD
  • Hani Tamim, PhD
  • Dr. Ali Al- Zahrani – KFSHRC/IEA-EMR, KSA
  • Dr. Walid Ammar – Ministry of Health, Lebanon
  • Dr. Haroutune Armenian – UCLA, USA/(Lebanon)
  • Dr. Mohammad Al-Thani – Ministry of Health, Qatar
  • Dr. Waleed Al-Faycal – Damascus University, Syria
  • Dr. Fawzi Amin – Ministry of Health, Bahrain
  • Dr. Ala Alwan – WHO/HQ Geneva, (Iraq)
  • Dr. Nasr El-Sayed – Ministry of Health, Egypt
  • Dr. Tawfic A. M Khoja - Health Ministers' Council/GCC, GCC
  • Dr. Haifa Madi – WHO/EMRO Egypt, (Jordan)
  • Dr. Jawad Mahjour – WHO/EMRO Egypt, (Morocco)
  • Dr. Ahmed Mandil – KSU/IEA Secretary, Egypt
  • Dr. Moustapha Mourad – High Institute of Public Health, Egypt
  • Dr. Mohamed Helmy Wahdan – WHO/EMRO, Egypt
  • Dr. Salah Mawajdeh – Ex-Minister of Health, Jordan
  • Dr. Awad Mataria – WHO/EMRO Egypt, (Palestine)
  • Dr. Ziad Memish – Ministry of Health, KSA
  • Dr. Iman Nuwayhid – AUB/FHS, Lebanon
  • Dr. Zohair Sebai – Sebai Institutes, KSA
  • Dr. Belgacem Sabri – WHO/EMRO Egypt, (Tunisia)
  • John Fayyad, MD (Chair)
  • Mary E. Deeb, PhD
  • Zeina Farah, MPH
  • Lilian Ghandour, PhD
  • Loulou Kobeissi, DrPH
  • Zeina Mohanna, MPH
  • Zeinab Slim, MPH
  • Lubna Tayyara, MD
  • Dr. Haroutoune Armenian, Professor in Residence, Epidemiology Department, University of California in Los Angeles (UCLA),school of Public Health, USA, & ex-president, American University of Armenia
  • Dr. Antoine Douaihy, Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Medical Director, Addiction Medicine Services, Director of Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship, Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic, Pittsburgh, USA  
  • Dr. Rima Khabbaz, Deputy Director for Infectious Diseases, National Center for Preparedness, Detection, and Control of Infectious Diseases (NCPDCID) at the Centers of Disease Control and prevention (CDC), Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Dr. Tawfic A. M. Khoja, Professor, Family Physician Consultant, Director General, Executive Board, Health Ministers' Council for Cooperation Council States
  • Dr. Muin Khoury, Director, National Office of Public Health Genomics at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), , Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Dr. Jaouad Mahjour, Director, Communicable Diseases, World Health Organization, Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterenean, Cairo, Egypt
  • Dr. Jorn Olsen, Past IEA President, Professor, Institute of Public Health, Department of Epidemiology, Bartholins Alle 2, Denmark
  • Dr. Neil Pearce,  IEA President, Professor and Director, Centre for Public Health Research, Massey University, Wellington, New Zealand
  • Dr. Babu L. Verma, IEA\INCLEN Liaison Officer, Professor of Biostatistics & In-Charge of the Division, Department of Social and Preventive Medicine, Maharani Laxmi Bai Medical College & Hospital, Jhansi, India